Enter: Friday Fund Days. Book Riot readers have helped fund hundreds of classrooms over the last few years, and we’ll help bring funds to hundreds more. Each Friday, we’ll highlight two classrooms or other literacy-focused, important projects in hopes you’ll help them reach their goals to bring literature, advocacy, and education to others. Even if you can’t spare money, any social sharing you can offer to the projects each week absolutely helps: you never know who’ll find it and have the means by which to make the project’s fundraising goals reached. More, you’ll bring awareness to the unmet needs in communities around the world, as well as right in your own back yard. When all else feels hard or hopeless, remember that you can and do make a difference.

This Week’s Projects

Read All About It! Saint Louis, MO ($164)

Help me give my students brand new books for guided and independent reading.

My Students

My Project

Often, school meals are the only food they eat in a day. Concentration and putting forth the energy needed for learning is difficult, although they are curious. My students crave new experiences and information. My students like to experiment with different types of technology and media. I love watching them make connections in our ELA center activities. They know that good readers read more than once—and they do, too! However, at this point of the school year, we have read our texts many times. Some books have even been damaged in the process. Brand new books will lure my students back into loving reading so that they can become the great readers they want to be.  

We Love Books! Philadelphia, PA ($165) 

Help me give my students high interest books in both English and Spanish.

My Students

My Project

Whether you can donate a dollar, donate fifty dollars, or donate a share on social media, you make a difference! I teach a wide array of students from gifted to those on learning support. My students do not have the resources that they deserve and need in the classroom. They love reading, researching, and using various forms of technology that allow them to be immersed in the topics they are learning. My students will be able to find comfort and acceptance by reading books with characters going through the same things. This project will solve the problem of a lack of inclusive and culturally diverse books in our library. The project will also help the emotional well being of students, by giving them a way to connect and share what they are going through.


title: “Friday Fund Days Drop Some Dollars Help Some Classrooms” ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-24” author: “Norman Parsons”


Enter: Friday Fund Days. Book Riot readers have helped fund hundreds of classrooms over the last few years, and we’ll help bring funds to hundreds more. Each Friday, we’ll highlight two classrooms or other literacy-focused, important projects in hopes you’ll help them reach their goals to bring literature, advocacy, and education to others. Even if you can’t spare money, any social sharing you can offer to the projects each week absolutely helps: you never know who’ll find it and have the means by which to make the project’s fundraising goals reached. More, you’ll bring awareness to the unmet needs in communities around the world, as well as right in your own back yard. When all else feels hard or hopeless, remember that you can and do make a difference.

This Week’s Projects

Inspire a Love of Reading with Comic Books, Bronx, New York ($523)

Help me give my students access to graphic novels and comic books to allow students to connect their love of popular culture to joyful reading experiences!

My Students

My Project

Recently in class, to demonstrate how difficult it is to summarize a long text in a few sentences, I asked them to convince me to watch their favorite TV show in 45 seconds or less. Nearly every hand in every class shot up eager to talk about a show they love. I often wear shirts relating to Star Wars and superhero movies, and my students feel connected to me because I love what they love. I have talked to kids about video games, comic books, and movies both to connect to them on a personal basis and to help them connect the things they love to what they are learning in class. In comic book club, these titles will also be used as mentor texts to help students create their own short series of comics. Some students are working on adaptations or fan-works of featuring their favorite characters, and others are working on entirely original creations. Additionally, for many students who struggle with reading, comics and graphic novels are a great way to spark an interest in reading and help them build their reading confidence.

Graphic Novels Make Reading Come Alive for Struggling Readers, Carnesville, Georgia ($355)

Help me give my students graphic novels for a love of reading that can improve their lives.

My Students

My Project

They tend to finish the graphic novels as it keeps their interest. I hate it when my students cannot find anything that they are interested in reading. Please help me with my goal of my students reading twenty books this school year! Reading changes everything for these students. Whether you can donate a dollar, donate fifty dollars, or donate a share on social media, you make a difference!


title: “Friday Fund Days Drop Some Dollars Help Some Classrooms” ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-15” author: “Darla Hackman”


Enter: Friday Fund Days. Book Riot readers have helped fund hundreds of classrooms over the last few years, and we’ll help bring funds to hundreds more. Each Friday, we’ll highlight two classrooms or other literacy-focused, important projects in hopes you’ll help them reach their goals to bring literature, advocacy, and education to others. Even if you can’t spare money, any social sharing you can offer to the projects each week absolutely helps: you never know who’ll find it and have the means by which to make the project’s fundraising goals reached. More, you’ll bring awareness to the unmet needs in communities around the world, as well as right in your own back yard. When all else feels hard or hopeless, remember that you can and do make a difference.

This Week’s Projects

Ready to Read! Philadelphia, Pennsylvania ($310)

Help me give my students materials to help them as they learn to read and annotate text.

My Students

My Project

They want college, they want to learn, they want more—and are starting to gain the confidence that they are capable to do it all. These materials will truly allow my students to dive into texts and show their understanding, and how it has developed. These materials will allow them to worry about the text, and not where to put their materials so they don’t become lost, or fall behind in the classwork because they spent so much time looking for a highlighter. They will be able to focus on becoming better readers.

Graphic Novels to Keep 4th Grade Readers Reading! Philadelphia, Pennsylvania ($398)

Help me give my students age appropriate graphic novels so the can keep up their reading stamina!

My Students

My Project

Whether you can donate a dollar, donate fifty dollars, or donate a share on social media, you make a difference! My fourth graders love research projects, independent reading, and hands-on activities. My students are as interested in poetry as they are in essay-writing and are committed to their education. My 4th graders are dedicated, hard-working, and aware of the importance of growth and learning. Halfway through the school year, students are enjoying independent reading less and less because there are fewer books to choose from. My students need a positive outlet which many of them find in reading therefore I want to supply with them with current graphic novels as well as some classic books to keep the library well balanced. Having access to these books would change my independent reading block and help students find time and space to get lost in a book!


title: “Friday Fund Days Drop Some Dollars Help Some Classrooms” ShowToc: true date: “2023-01-08” author: “Larry Brantley”


Enter: Friday Fund Days. Book Riot readers have helped fund hundreds of classrooms over the last few years, and we’ll help bring funds to hundreds more. Each Friday, we’ll highlight two classrooms or other literacy-focused, important projects in hopes you’ll help them reach their goals to bring literature, advocacy, and education to others. Even if you can’t spare money, any social sharing you can offer to the projects each week absolutely helps: you never know who’ll find it and have the means by which to make the project’s fundraising goals reached. More, you’ll bring awareness to the unmet needs in communities around the world, as well as right in your own back yard. When all else feels hard or hopeless, remember that you can and do make a difference.

This Week’s Projects

Listen Up! New Books for Our Listening Center, Philadelphia, PA ($542)

Help me give my students new books for their listening center to keep them excited about reading.

My Students

My Project

One of the things they love is our listening center where they come together with a few friends, open a book, and listen to the story read to them on a CD player. I did not anticipate how much they would love this station that improves their listening, literacy, and fluency skills, so we need more story selections. The books I’ve chosen are a bit too difficult to read alone, so having them on CD is perfect. Plus, these books are high-interest, meaning my students will look forward to reading them when it’s their turn at the center.

Reading with Passion, Fontana, CA ($195)

Help me give my students books to add to our classroom library for AR quizzes.

My Students

My Project

Whether you can donate a dollar, donate fifty dollars, or donate a share on social media, you make a difference!


title: “Friday Fund Days Drop Some Dollars Help Some Classrooms” ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-15” author: “Joseph Fosler”


Enter: Friday Fund Days. Book Riot readers have helped fund hundreds of classrooms over the last few years, and we’ll help bring funds to hundreds more. Each Friday, we’ll highlight two classrooms or other literacy-focused, important projects in hopes you’ll help them reach their goals to bring literature, advocacy, and education to others. Even if you can’t spare money, any social sharing you can offer to the projects each week absolutely helps: you never know who’ll find it and have the means by which to make the project’s fundraising goals reached. More, you’ll bring awareness to the unmet needs in communities around the world, as well as right in your own back yard. When all else feels hard or hopeless, remember that you can and do make a difference.

This Week’s Projects

Seeing Ourselves in What We Are Reading, Batesburg, SC ($665)

Help me give my students diverse book choices for lit circles throughout the year as well as for a unit on identity using Trevor Noah’s book Born a Crime as the anchor text. Thank you for your support!

My Students

My Project

My students are culturally diverse, but we do not have enough books written by or for people of color. Reading diverse books promotes a deeper understanding of the world by sharing different points of view and new ways of seeing issues. And my students deserve books they can relate to. The other texts in my cart will add more diversity to the unit giving my students lit circle choices as we further explore these questions.

Great Graphic Novels, Columbus, OH ($362)

Help me give my students graphics novels to increase and inspire their love for reading.

My Students

My Project

Whether you can donate a dollar, donate fifty dollars, or donate a share on social media, you make a difference! During my Open House, students were already making a list of the graphic novels they intended to read. Now that school has started, my students are reading at a tremendous rate. My graphic novels have been flying off the shelves. My exuberant readers are vigorously reading all of the graphic novels I have. Their love for reading is contagious and inspiring. Reading is an essential skill for all students, and I promote a love for reading in my classroom. Graphic novels can dramatically help improve reading development for my students struggling with language acquisition, including special needs students, as the illustrations provide contextual clues to the meaning of the written narrative. They can provide students with clues to an emotional context that they might miss when reading a traditional text. English Language Learners will be more motivated by graphic novels and will more readily acquire new vocabulary and increase English proficiency. This project will improve our classroom library by increasing the number of graphic novels for students to read in school and take home.


title: “Friday Fund Days Drop Some Dollars Help Some Classrooms” ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-01” author: “Jake Tate”


Enter: Friday Fund Days. Book Riot readers have helped fund hundreds of classrooms over the last few years, and we’ll help bring funds to hundreds more. Each Friday, we’ll highlight two classrooms or other literacy-focused, important projects in hopes you’ll help them reach their goals to bring literature, advocacy, and education to others. Even if you can’t spend money, any social sharing you can offer to the projects each week absolutely helps: you never know who’ll find it and have the means by which to make the project’s fundraising goals reached. More, you’ll bring awareness to the unmet needs in communities around the world, as well as right in your own back yard. When all else feels hard or hopeless, remember that you can and do make a difference.

THIS WEEK’S PROJECTS

Building a Foundation to Become a Great Reader! Orlando, FlORIDA

My Project

A listening center provides a model of fluent reading and helps the scholars focus on the sounds of words read without interruption. “Audio books also give scholars an important introduction to listening “— a skill that scholars must master in order to learn to read.

Diverse and Relevant Reads. Steelton, pa.

My Project

Where you can donate a dollar, donate fifty dollars, or donate a share on social media, you make a difference! They will be able to relate these books to their lives, and Spanish copies will make them accessible to all of my kids.


title: “Friday Fund Days Drop Some Dollars Help Some Classrooms” ShowToc: true date: “2023-01-13” author: “Preston Sparks”


Enter: Friday Fund Days. Book Riot readers have helped fund hundreds of classrooms over the last few years, and we’ll help bring funds to hundreds more. Each Friday, we’ll highlight two classrooms or other literacy-focused, important projects in hopes you’ll help them reach their goals to bring literature, advocacy, and education to others. Even if you can’t spare money, any social sharing you can offer to the projects each week absolutely helps: you never know who’ll find it and have the means by which to make the project’s fundraising goals reached. More, you’ll bring awareness to the unmet needs in communities around the world, as well as right in your own back yard. When all else feels hard or hopeless, remember that you can and do make a difference.

This Week’s Projects

A Tornado Destroyed Our Library…Help Us Rebuild It! Dallas, TX ($721)

Help me give my students books to rebuild our classroom library! After the tornado that ripped apart our school, we have no more books for our students.

My Students

My Project

Readers and Writers: Creating a Flexible Workspace, Salinas, CA ($903)

Help me give my students a comfortable and inviting place to listen to books and then write their own Students in my classroom are inquisitive, compassionate, and dedicated. These language learners need books that connect to their lives, but are also at their reading level. My students are eager to learn, curious about the world, and need practice with the language. Their dedication, passion, and willingness inspire me to be a better educator. My students read these books every day in class—reading was an integral part of our daily lessons. Please join me on my quest to recreate our classroom library. I have selected the titles that were the most popular for my students. We would be so appreciative of your support–anything will help us at this point.

My Students

My Project

Our school is in a high poverty, high violence part of town. 98% of the students at my school are English Language Learners. Everyone qualifies for the free lunch program. Each child in my classroom absolutely loves learning, although the method and environment in which they learn best vary greatly. I try to incorporate a variety of learning strategies, group work, and alternative seating and learning options to ensure that each student’s needs are met. They are truly an incredible group, and I am so lucky and thankful to have a new group of learners that are excited and ready to learn each year! The pillows are large and cozy and will allow students to sit anywhere in the classroom. These will be extremely beneficial for some students that just need to get the wiggles out. The comfy floor seats will allow for additional comfortable floor seating options. They are lightweight and can be easily used in many areas of the classroom. Students will also use the round table for collaborating on their writing and with the radio, for a listening to books. I have seen how choice can positively affect my students work and demeanor and hope that the additional options will help us grow even more! Whether you can donate a dollar, donate fifty dollars, or donate a share on social media, you make a difference!