I got into the Star Wars comics a few years ago, but it took me a little longer to start reading the books—and there are plenty of them to read, from Legends to the new canon. Whatever you love about Star Wars, there is likely a book about it or that has it in the story. I admit, I am new to Star Wars Rebels and Thrawn, and my canon knowledge exceeds that of my Legends knowledge, but that’s also one of the things I love about the fandom: just how much is out there and that there’s always more to read and learn. My one complaint: Disney, come on. Leia is the main character of the saga (I’ve written about this before). Leia is an icon. She’s got a hell of a storyline. Yes, we have the Claudia Gray book and one volume of a Leia comic. I WANT MORE! I want her childhood on Alderaan with Bail and Breha. I want her Jedi training with Luke, as was alluded to in Episode IX. I want a book about her as a mother, raising Ben (I know, I guess we’ll ignore Jacen and Jaina). I want more stories of her watching her Resistance fight and die and find hope. I would love, love, love a book about her getting older and navigating her desire to have Ben denounce the Dark Side, and her realization of everything she’s lived through. Disney, hit me up. I have ideas. Yes, I will die on this hill. Since those books don’t exist (yet), I put together a list of books that I’ll be reading for October, as well as some of my favorite Star Wars books. For those with young Padawans, I have some suggestions for them, too! For even more Star Wars bookish goodness, check out this post and this post, too. What will you be reading for Star Wars Reads?

Star Wars Reads Begins Today  - 64Star Wars Reads Begins Today  - 94Star Wars Reads Begins Today  - 31Star Wars Reads Begins Today  - 24Star Wars Reads Begins Today  - 26Star Wars Reads Begins Today  - 47Star Wars Reads Begins Today  - 1