To find out the top 10 in our school, I do a few things. First, I run stats, because school librarians love to run stats. I look at the top 10 most heavily borrowed comics since September. However, just because a comic has been checked out doesn’t mean that it’s universally loved by the students. I also ask them in both a formal and an informal manner. In our library, there is a whiteboard that students can interact with as they enter the library. I asked them what their favourite comics have been this year. I also ask them when they return comics to the desk and when I’m promoting comics to entire classes. I feel these are the best ways to get a well rounded result when it comes to “top 10” lists. The results are in: here are their top 10 favourite comics so far this school year! I hope you have these comics in your library, and if not, I hope you are able to get them in. It’s been a great time asking the students what their favourites are, and there were definitely a few surprises in there! For even more, check out 50 Must-Read Middle Grade Graphic Novels, Middle Grade Graphic Novels to Lose Yourself In, and The Best New Middle Grade Graphic Novels.

The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 24The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 3The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 92The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 28The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 60The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 38The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 11The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 97The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 61The Most Popular Middle Grade Comics as Chosen by Students - 29