One genre I rarely read before I began listening to audiobooks was nonfiction. I incorrectly assumed that nonfiction books were dull, but audiobooks made them come to life in my mind’s eye. For one, many (not all) nonfiction books are narrated by their writers. In fact, some of the best ones feel like a fantastic podcast, in which I feel as though I have a personal relationship with the writer/narrator. Their personalities and intentions are sometimes more accurately relayed while reciting their own stories than if I imagined their voices in my head. I think nonfiction books lend themselves well to audio because the subjects the books address, which can be anything from immigration reform to the history of the Roman Empire, are almost always discussed out loud among people. That’s not to say that reading about these topics is unusual, but my most vivid memories of learning about these subjects are from discussions rather than book. I think that audiobooks bridge this gap, to where readers can feel as though they are in conversation about important topics relevant to their lives while also reading a book. So the next time you’re on a hot girl walk or on a long road trip, consider giving these nonfiction audiobooks a try. Want to read more nonfiction? Check out some great memoirs by AAPI writers and learn about what makes a good biography.

Tune Into These Excellent Nonfiction Audiobooks - 49Tune Into These Excellent Nonfiction Audiobooks - 14Tune Into These Excellent Nonfiction Audiobooks - 19Tune Into These Excellent Nonfiction Audiobooks - 51Tune Into These Excellent Nonfiction Audiobooks - 94Tune Into These Excellent Nonfiction Audiobooks - 28Tune Into These Excellent Nonfiction Audiobooks - 50Tune Into These Excellent Nonfiction Audiobooks - 48